Bits and Bobs

Weather

Living in Texas, we didn’t feel that there was much of a fall. Here, we definitely have a fall and we are loving it. There are yellow, red, and orange trees and leaves on the ground. There are chilly temperatures ranging from 60° to the 40s (except Celsius is preferred here, so 14-6°). There are people in hats, scarves, boots (and not just because it’s cute or Texas), gloves, and coats. We are very much enjoying it.

England Life

When we were getting ready to move, we had heard from various folks that British people aren’t very friendly. Now maybe this is more of an overall statistic – as in, overall British people are less friendly than Americans, or something like that – but what we are finding in our area is that British people are just as friendly. Some people smile when you smile. I have even had a few “Good Mornings” while walking down the street. People have talked to me randomly, asking for directions, or just asking about our walk. As some of you may remember me mentioning before, people helped us get the stroller up stairs many times or our way here. And while you may think that people may be more friendly when you have kids, not all of these things happened while I had the girls. Maybe friendly is meant in a different way than what I am thinking. Or maybe we just haven’t been here long enough to see the unfriendliness. But so far, I see no difference.

Business

This may be just the one near us, as we have only been to that one. But our grocery store seems a tad different than you would see in the US. I have noticed that when I come up to a stall (I think that is what they called it), unless I am behind someone who is still being helped, the cashier will wait until I get everything on before starting to check me out. They don’t seem to be in any rush. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I just found it interesting.

Netflix is here, but as you may imagine, it is different. Not different like the layout and the way you do things is different. Just that the same shows aren’t on it. This isn’t necessarily a problem. There are new shows that we didn’t get in the US. What isn’t so fun, we can’t watch these shows on any other site because they aren’t available here. Now part of that is really just because Hulu decided not to be free anymore. I’m confused as to whether you can get Hulu here anyway. Things I read say no, but when I go to Hulu it seems like the only thing in my way is a subscription. But, it’s just TV so it’s not really a big deal anyway. Just something different here.

I have mentioned this once already. But I thought I would elaborate a bit. They don’t say bathrooms here. They say toilet or washroom. The way you flush is different. It is usually two buttons. One is for a small flush and one is for a big flush. You can tell which is which by the size of the button. Only in the hospitals have I seen a lever for flushing. Another thing that is different is the toilet paper. In most places I have seen a little dispenser where the toilet paper comes out like tissues. Only in a few places have I seen an actual roll of toilet paper. Though, they do sell rolls of toilet paper.

toilet

Food

Some differences in food that I don’t think I have mentioned yet. Hot dogs (at least in our grocery store) are in a jar or a can. There is canned food. Not like a can of soup can. Like an over sized tuna fish can. The ones I have tried are a stew-like meal with pastry over top. Before coming, I read that there are no pickles here. This is only half true. There are pickles here. There are no truly dill pickles here.

Word(s) of the Day

A jab is a shot. This one may be well known, porridge is oatmeal. A cot is a crib and a crib is a bassinet.

Giveaway 

The last think I want to talk about is a giveaway. Yay! If you comment on this post with a suggestion for a topic, I will pick a name and send that person a little something from here. Your own bit of England. So comment below!

9 thoughts on “Bits and Bobs

  1. I want you to document cooking and eating a quintessential brittish meal. Take pictures of the cooking process, the family eating it, and their overall thoughts on the meal.

    Like

  2. I’m glad ya’ll are getting accustomed to England! I have been loving the leaves, too!

    The hot dogs are so bizarre. As a child I definitely had vienna sausages in a can, but I can’t even think about trying the canned hot dogs. (They’re probably perfectly fine, but I didn’t eat too many hot dogs anyways, so it hasn’t been too much of a loss.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am thoroughly enjoying reading about your adventure and vicariously living through you. I’d love to see a post about accents or dialects. Have you noticed any different words being used or changes in accents based on location? I find it fascinating and cannot wait to rad your next post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I imagine it’s mostly tourists who walk away from UK thinking they were rude, and probably because they were the 4th American that day to ask them where Big Ben is, in a terrible attempt at an English accent.

    But at least that information doesn’t seem to have been as misleading as the portrayal of France as a 3rd world country we got before our Mission’s Holiday that I’m certain my brother has spoken of more than once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

